gotstang.com forums logo
back to gotstang.com
    Be Afraid, Very Afraid ComputerGuy's Avatar

Default Real Name If you want and reason behind Nick?

OK. This should be some fun for us. We all have nicks here. What does it mean or how you got it. I'll Start off.

Hi I'm Ben (Hi Ben). I retired from the Air Force about 3 years ago where I was a cook. I have been known as the cook that fixed people computers since about 1982 (No young kids comments please).

Now, I'm a SMS Adminstrator working in patch management, computer security, and threat mitigation for an enterprise network that has as many as 10,000 computers at any given moment. I also do computer forensics. I can also build one from scratch.... Hence ComputerGuy.

Gotstang? Regular thunderbolt64's Avatar

Thunderbolt64................I always thought it was self explanatory. Here is a brief history lesson for the kiddies in here. It actually started in the summer of 1963. Ford decided to put together a "Total Performance" program to combat the 426 Max Wedges, and Hemis of the Dodges and Plymouths. Ford commissioned a guy by the name of Andy Hotton to come up with a"Special Event Acceleration Vehicle" that would bring Ford many victories.

This lead to putting the 427 CID V-8 into the smaller and lighter Fairlane. The "Thunderbolt" Fairlane weighed only 3225 lbs., which was only 25 lbs. over the minimum weight requirement for the super stock it was to compete in. This was 500 lbs. less than the previously used Galaxies.

The efforts of Ford paid off in 1964, as the Thunderbolt, took home the World Championship for Top Stock Eliminator, and the overall NHRA Manufacturers cup. There were only 100 of these beasts originally produced.

Ok history lesson is over. I have just always used this nickname as my username, because I own a 1964 Fairlane, that I have turned into a Thunderbolt clone.
    Last edited by thunderbolt64; 03-27-2005 at 02:59 PM.

J. Hi im J. J = Jason. J.

GSMC#10 (Got Stang? Midnight Crew)