PDA

View Full Version : A Quick Katrina Report ( From a LEO)

Lawman
09-14-2005, 02:07 PM
What's up Guys/Gals? This will be my formal "first post."
I'm a New Orleans Police Officer, and currently I'm on a 5 day leave from the city.
To say that things are terrible down here is an understatement.
The day the storm hit was devastating. But, as you know, it really wasn't the storm that caused most of the damage, it was the failiure of various levees within the area.
The day after the storm was unbelievable. There were looters, murders, rapes, shootings...., the city was out of control.
When the S*@T hit the fan, a large number of police officers abandoned us, when we needed them the most.
These COWARDS will be dealt with accordingly after the dust settles.
These cowards left us, and now they are returning, asking "What can I do to help"?
My answer," GO BACK TO THE COWARDLY MANSION THAT YOU RETREATED TO, AND GO F%&K YOURSELF!"
Before the storm hit, I relocated my dogs to the 3rd floor of my mother-in-laws' house, and left them enough food and water to last 3 days.
My family left for safe ground, and I had to stay behind in order to "serve and protect" my city.
No one ever thought that this would be a storm of such great magnitude.
Everyone figured that it will miss us, just like the previous storms within the last 15 years.
We were wrong! When I heard over the police radio that the 17th Street canal levee failed, my heart sank because it was then I knew that we lost everything we had.
Within minutes, my house was under 12-14 feet of water. I lost cell phone contact with my family for 5 days. I cried myself to sleep every night that I could not talk to my wife, mom,dad, and or hear my son's 1 1/2 year old voice.
Approximately 1 week later, my Lieutenant and I acquired a boat/truck/trailer, and we went off to see our properties.
When I got to my mother-in-laws' house, I stepped off the boat, and onto the 3rd floor.