J
03-29-2005, 09:24 AM
http://linuxdevices.com/news/NS8386088053.html

ComputerGuy
03-29-2005, 10:19 AM
That's kewl. No larger than a RJ 45

Cobra94
03-29-2005, 10:26 AM
what does linux do. sorry I'm a phone tech. i dont have a clue when it comes to data.

J
03-29-2005, 10:28 AM
what does linux do. sorry I'm a phone tech. i dont have a clue when it comes to data.
Its a light weight OS

ComputerGuy
03-29-2005, 10:42 AM
Where as M$oft is an over weight OS!! Slow and clumbsy!!

Joe Friday
03-29-2005, 02:05 PM
Windows always worked well for me - win 95 & 98

EddieGT
03-29-2005, 02:11 PM
Its a light weight OS
Linux isn't a light-weight OS (in itself), it's a POSIX compliant "UNIX-like" operating system. Some distributions are focused on space, therefor they strip the kernel down as much as possible and only include relevant services.

Microsoft has embedded versions of NT and XP (XPe) that are "light-weight" as well. It's all in what the device will be used for.

Linux in itself is not necessarily the most secure and stable OS ever made. It's just among the first to be developed, not only as open source, but also by non-affiliated groups of people. This is where it gained its "fame" from.

Its future in the embedded device market is bright, due to low-cost and easy kernel customization, but as always it will be difficult for it to bloom in the desktop market. As much as people complain about Windows and Microsoft in general, there's a reason why they own the market share they do... It's not all in the marketing, it's also in the effectiveness of the product they provide.

J
03-29-2005, 02:13 PM
Ok then you put windows on a floppy. asshole.

EddieGT
03-29-2005, 02:19 PM
Ok then you put windows on a floppy. asshole.
:fu:

You put a Linux distribution with a useable XFree86 and window manager combo in it and I'll be down for the challenge.